SUNDAY 116

Time: 10:04
Place: Home

I’m back. 4 months after my last Sunday post. 9 Months into my marriage. I am back to regularly writing the Sunday posts. Hopefully.

Continuing the theme of being stuck from the last post. I have had some time to reflect on my situation. It has been almost 2 months since I posted my resume to companies. I managed 2 referrals, one of which went to interviews. There has been no progress whatsoever.

There is only so much I can do. There is no point in being hard on myself and feeling down.  I need to accept my situation and adapt to the framework. It does not however mean that I abandon all ambitions. I need to be prepared for any opportunities that come my way as well.

So what’s my situation?

It’s been tough financially. Me and the Mrs have just 40K balance in the account. The Mrs. has completed paying off her marriage loans this month but will need to start paying her Education loan starting next month. At this rate it seems like I would end the year with net savings of 1L. I can’t even use that to pay advance for my next place if I move.

About moving: There would be no moving. I have been grumbling about having to stay so far away and having to spend so much time travelling to the office. I need to get used to the fact that I will be staying in the same place the rest of this year at least. No furniture as well. Living with minimal comforts doesn’t really bother me. I have lived this way for a long time.

Work: OCM work will start eventually. I will need to put in a lot of effort to scale up. That will affect the amount of time that I have for self skill development and to stay fresh for interviews.

So:
1. Budget is tight.
2. I stay in the same shitty place.
3. I struggle at work.

Looking at the bright side:
1. I will still end up with 10L in total career savings by end of this year. Most of them are immovable assets but they still count.
2. Its not so bad. Its quiet and breezy and not smelly.
3. I got an outstanding rating so I should get a promotion and a raise. Also Oracle is doing good relatively so its not a bad place to be at right now.

So the framework. How do I best utilize my time to continue a good career, and to stay happy?

The chat that I had with Chaman had some benefits. I am off the hook for this month at least. I can put off travelling to OTP for the rest of this month. I can continue travelling to PTP. I have a good opportunity to sit with the Apps folks and to learn from them. It will definitely do good to my career. I have reached saturation with regards to database certifications anyway. Adding Apps certifications will go a long way in improving my career and employability.

So I have a 3 pronged strategy: I spend time on OCM, Interviews and Apps. With regards to interviews, I think its best I do test cases every day. Working on test cases will give me real experience. 3 hours on each should keep me busy this month. It will not be easy however. Maintaining focus on 3 different things at the same time is very challenging. I have never done it in my life. I will get mentally fatigued and frustrated. I will once again use this journal as a medium to vent my frustration and to track and motivate myself.

Jai ho!

Leave a Reply

