SUNDAY 76

Time: 9:42
Place: 005, Devi Residency
Week 28

Good week.

Had an internal review for the starwood assessment with the Tech Leads. They seemed to be satisfied with the report.

Had an escalation this week that I worked hard on. Got some recognition from my namesake and Mr C.

Last week I spoke to Aditya about my U.S trip and I told him that I wasn’t sure if I can make it to the U.S as I didnt have the money. He told me that if money was the issue, he would sponsor some part of it and that I could pay him back. This made me think hard about the situation and finally I decided that I will go to the U.S. Dad can make his own plans. So bro booked the tickets this week. Emirates flight. Cost a decent 64.5K. The folks decided they wanted to meet in Vegas. I need to book the tickets from Chicago to Vegas.

Met Swathi yesterday for lunch. Spent 6 hours with her. The time really flied. It’s amazing how comfortable I am with her even though we know very little about each other. We had a good chat yesterday and she opened up about her previous marriage alliances.

Earlier today I went through all the Sunday posts that I have written in the lat 8 months. Its amazing to me how a lot of the focus was on the marriage blues. Now that the marriage is settled, what is my current state of mind?

I need to figure out what I want to do now. Swathi will be a part of my life. I need to understand myself better if I want to be a good husband and partner to her. I want to be someone she would come to look up to and love. What do I need to do to be that person?

So much of my focus has been on the marriage for the last year, I need to now figure out what I need to focus on. Things that I have on my plate right now:

  1. The U.S trip.
  2. Certifications.
  3. Upcoming marathon season.

I registered for the Hyderabad marathon couple of days back. I have to make sure that I have a good marathon this year. My goal has to be to do a sub 2:15 in hyderabad this year. Given how hard I have worked in the gym the last few months, anything worse than that will be disappointing. I will start the preparation this month.

I have the Exadata certification scheduled for the end of this week. I need to make sure I clear the exam. Then I have the cloud administrator certification lined up for the end of the month. I will try to have a crack at the SQL fundamentals again before I leave for the U.S trip. I will be doing a lot of ghoting in the coming 6 weeks.

Bro has paid for the U.S trip tickets. I need to make sure I pay him back. Dad is paying for the home loan this month so I have some extra money with me. Should I settle his debt or should I save money for the U.S trip? He did ask for the money the other day but I can extend it a little longer. It should be fine. I think I will pool in my money for the next couple of months.

Another interesting thing happened this week. When I spoke to the 2 Mr. C’s regarding the vacation, the topic of the L1 visa came up. They told me that short term and long term opportunities will come up for which I will need to travel. They told me to think about it and get back to them.

I thought about it and discussed with Bro also. I am not that interested in the offer. I was debating about whether or not I want to discuss it with Madam. So I went ahead and discussed it. I have more to lose by not taking up the offer than I have by taking it up. My goal of completing the OCM will take me 2 years to achieve. By that time I will have completed close to 4 years in Oracle so nobody should grudge me if I leave then for greener pastures. Madam feels the same too.

I have decided to talk to Chaman about this tomorrow. Will see how the conversation goes.

When I started the week count,  I wrote down that I want to have a count of the weeks until I get. Which means the count will continue. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

