SUNDAY 49

Place: 1A095, Hyd Office

Time: 6:26 P.M, Week 1

Came to Hyderabad today. The last week was a good one. After the marathon I would have liked a bit of rest but I couldn’t afford it. Literally. I worked through the week and will be working the next 2 days too. It has gotten tiring and will get more so by the end but I will get a chance to rest once come Wednesday. Hopefully.

This whole series of posts are keeping a count going but the purpose of the posts was  not to build a count. The last time I started a count just for that purpose was when I was on bench in 2012. I think that count ended at 167 days. Will need to check the diary. Anyway, I have decided to start another count, hence the week 1 above. The count is for the number of weeks it will take for me to get. At the outset I don’t like it. These things get depressing and its going against my better judgement but some things are just worth doing so I will go ahead and do it anyway.

On Monday I had a chat with Mr. C about a Migration onsite project with Dell. The contract is getting signed and the delivery may start in the third week of Nov. The project involves GG so me and Rupak are lined up. Which one of us ends up going depends up the timing of the start. Rupak is getting married next month so in case the project starts when he is away, I might get the chance.

I wasn’t too disappointed when the T&M thing with CSC went to Gopi. I knew such opportunities will keep coming and I just need to be ready. This one is a longer project and is definitely a tougher assignment. I hope it turns out well. Now given that its a 10 months thing, in case I get to do the delivery, what about my plans for marriage and Hyd move?

My schedule for the next 6 months is already very complicated. I am looking to move to Hyd, looking to get married and looking to go to Europe. If I add another demanding activity to this list, I will have to drop one of the above mentioned ones. The Hyd move is definitely gone but I may need to drop the Europe trip as well. Work has been very demanding of late and with the Marriage blues, I have my hands full.

It’s not just about the effort involved in the planing, its also about money. Is it worth it? As of this moment, I dont know.

I think I will take the rest of the month to make up my mind. I will see how it goes at the other 2 fronts and will make up my mind when the moment comes.

About the other front, I am officially in the market now. I have not prepared mentally yet. It’s also something that you cant absolutely plan for. With these things you need the delicate balance of having a clear picture but yet remaining spontaneous. I think I’ll see how the first meet goes and then I might have a better idea of how to deal with it. I am not sweating it at the moment.

So the next 2 days I relax at work and will try to get some rest. Wednesday I will go to Aliabad. I have a lot of lose ends to tie up. AB loan, the dry cleaning of clothes required, cleaning up the house etc. The catering for Thursday also needs to be planned. We will need to feed 30 people and it’ll require planning. Dad wants to go for catering. I don’t really mind the expense given that we basically might not be left with much choice. We’ll see.

I also want to spend some time with dad. I hope he stays at home for the 4 days. It’s been more than 6 months since I had a proper relaxed conversation with him. I think I might be neglecting him a little. I think I’ll do a morning walk with him one day.

Leave a Reply

