Pre – Bangalore Marathon 2015

Chennai 2012. –> 02:02
Arouville 2013.  –> 02:16
Hyderabad 2013.  –> 02:31
Coimbatore 2013. –> 02.:34
CTC 2013.
Chennai 2013.
Hyderabad 2014. –> 02:56
Bangalore 2014.
Hyderabad 2015. –> 02:51
Bangalore 2015.

The one’s listed above are all the marathon events that I have registered for in my endurance running career. Of the 10 above, I participated in and completed 6 of the runs. For 2 of them, my registration was for a full marathon. I did not attempt either of them. For the Bangalore 2014, I did not even pick up the bib and the free t-shirt.

I will be running the Bangalore Half Marathon this weekend. My preparation for the run hasn’t been ideal but I am in decent shape. If I take care of myself these next few days, I should be able to complete a good run. I have no further Marathons planned this year. As such I have no plan about what I want to do going ahead.

I started endurance running in Chennai and in those days, I enjoyed running. For various reasons, my passion for running has reduced now. Nowadays, I am so worried about niggles and injuries that I don’t get to enjoy my long runs. Most of my running has been in the Gym and I’m not a big fan of that.

Running a marathon has been my dream for long but I have quite a lot of things stacked up against me. Wouldn’t it be easier if I just quit?

I am thinking of going back to the regimen that I followed during my Fitness One days. The results that I achieved in my 3 months in that gym were amazing. I have not been able to replicate that in the last 6 months. I don’t know what I am doing wrong now, but I feel its worth a try going back to what has worked in the past.

The new regimen would mean a reduced focus on running and increase in weight training. I will be extending my Gym membership for another quarter so I have the next 4 months to plan for. I can still do the Sunday long runs but with no Marathon to plan for, I don’t think I will be able to sustain the drive. Doing long runs is hard work.

I have to get to under 68Kgs before I start planning for the next  marathon. All of this to reduce the damage my weight does to my legs when I run.

Say I come down to 68 Kgs by Feb 2016. Will I start preparing for a full marathon in Aug at the Hyderabad Marathon?

Leave a Reply

