SUNDAY 42

Place: Devi Residency

Time: 6:15 P.M

I am writing this on Tuesday. Will all that happened on the weekend, I completely forgot about the Sunday post. Anyway here goes..

So last week was another massively productive week. Highlights:

AHM -3 – The timing of the run was close to my worst but in a way, this marathon gave me more satisfaction compared to my previous 2 AHM’s. I did whatever I could do to prepare for the run. I mentally prepared myself for the run, then had to prepare to not run, then again had to prepare for the run.. all the in the space of 3 days. I had the best preparation I could for the run and ran the run in the best possible way, considering the circumstances. There was scopre for improvement in post run cooldown though. Something for me to improve next year.

Considering where I was 3 months back, I am proud of what I have managed. I am in much better shape physically and from here I will be able to see tangible benefits to my efforts. The only thing I need to do is not let up.

Clorox – Another equally impressive feat that was achieved over the week was the Clorox patching that I did on Saturday. This was the first patching that I started and performed on my own. I was very apprehensive leading upto the activity and made sure I did my homework properly. There were lots of issues that I had to deal with during the patching but I thought I dealt with them well. I have further established my credentials for Exadata patching and just need to progress this to Supercluster as well. I think I am 70% there for the target that Chaman set for me. The rest will take personal initiative but I should be able to do it somehow before November.

Collage of Devi III’s experiences ends in November and I dont want to extent it any more.

Spent some good family time in Beeramguda. I think this was the first trip to Hyderabad, in which I did not visit Aliabad. Dad was so busy that he granted me only 1 day appointment!

Ravi Mama was there for 2 days and Rama attamma for 4 days. I was expecting the topic of sam_girl to come up but surprisingly, it did not. I asked Pinni on saturday what that was about. She said that the sam family had backed out as they thought the age difference was too much. I made sure I did not show any emotion while I was speaking to her.. but this has had some effect on me.

To be honest, I am disappointed it is not working out. I had mentally prepared for this and to find out suddenly that it is not going to happen, is upsetting. If it went through, this marriage would have been a little challenging, but I wouldn’t have had to move out of my comfort zone too much. It was a great opportunity for everyone involved to do something good. Now I am back to square one and face the prospect of stepping into the market when the time comes. This will involve all the bullshit that comes with arranged marriages that I can see Purush and Bala are going through right now. It will also mean moving out of my comfort zone and doing things that I am not very keen on doing.

I was keen on maintaining status quo regarding this, but I was not expecting something like this to happen. Given that they are losing more than I am, I don’t understand how they think age is significant enough to break this. I think it’s probably because they dont really have the confidence to step up and ask. The girl is starting MBA so its not like they are actively looking for other options.

Would it have turned out any different if dad had money? Would I have done some course correction if dad had money and I knew before hand they might back off? Will I resent dad not having money given how things have turned out?

I have thought about these questions and I can truthfully say that the answer to these 3 questions is no.

I do not like the way this has turned out. If I want to, I can change the way this narration is going. But I will not do so, as it will not be appropriate on my part. I am hoping things change and they get back. All I can do is wait and watch.

Anyway, this Sunday post ended up with quite some rambling about, but this had to be recorded here.

Leave a Reply

