Auroville you lovely..

So I did the Auroville. And did it fine. Lots of superlatives I want to pen down today. And lot’s I will..

2:16 hrs. Before the run, I didn’t know If I could complete. It just goes to show that if you take care of the body, it takes care of you. My choice of quitting running and joining the gym was the right one.. I might have been under prepared, but still to finish that well was something..

The trip to and fro Auroville was great. Mr. Kannan brought out the Xylo and the journey was quite comfortable. For 350 bucks, it was a great deal and saved us a lot of trouble. Joining us on the ride were Srinivas and Raghu who did the full, Ganesh and Kannan did the 10k along with Sainath and me and the other guy whose name I can’t quite remember did the half. Comfy!!!

The stay was also amazing. I called up Mr. Anbu when we reached Auroville and he said that there was place for people. We shared a 4 bed room which was quite comfortable. For 200 bucks, it was a great bargain, that too just 3 kms from the start line. Fabulous!!!

I took food that the cook had prepared for dinner and that helped as there was no food available nearby there. I had a great sleep helped by the fact that Arsenal beat Sunderland in the League game. I woke up early and prepared mentally for the run. Initially I didn’t have a ride to the start point but just as I came down the stairs, a large group of Hyderabad runners were leaving in their tempos and they gave me a lift. Terrific!!!

The physical preparation for the run was great and the start was even better. I was slow and steady at the beginning and kept an easy pace till the 8k point. I kept dreading the feel of my shins giving in but the pain never came. My ankles hurt at 10 kms but that was normal. I found Volini at one of the Aid stations and applied it to the area. The lack of long run practice showed when I started tiring at the 14k point. But I hung on and ran on. Took breaks every one km and I thought it was a race where the milestones came easily. I didn’t have to struggle until the 19k point.  Stupendous!!!

At 19k, I couldn’t feel my lower body. I had very little left in my reserves and I pushed with all I had. After 20k I was determined to get to the finish line without stopping and finished the run in 2hrs 16 mins approx. The time keeping was manual so the results won’t be that accurate. But I am still very happy with my performance. I didn’t finish as strong as I would have liked and there was no place to cool down and do any stretches. I had to wait in the line for the Pongal Vada breakfast. And the medal was also not that impressive. But among a sea of positives,, I won’t bitch about the negatives.

So I came out of the finish area and promptly found a lift to the room. Entered the room and just crashed. Started back at 12:30 and reached Chennai at about 2:30 P.M. By that time, my body crashed very badly and I had to struggle to get to the restaurant and have the food I ordered. I just came to the room and slept for another couple of hours.

I have to say a few lines about the Auroville track. About 90% of the run was under the canopy of tress and the scenes were amazing. Most of the distance was trail run so I had to be careful to avoid putting a foot wrong. Still it was a great experience. The organizers dutifully put up milestones after every km which was great.  The aid stations were adequate and the locals turned up to cheer us on the run which was lovely. What was also great were a few very nice booties that I followed around the run. A pair in particular was really really nice and she had my attention for about 3 kms. It’s a shame I didn’t get to see her front as I overtook her. But still I thought she did a good job. Cheers to the mystery nice assed babe who showed me how its done. Sexy!!!

The knee is sore. My recovery will be bad. But I now believe in my legs again. And now I will fight. Now I will push. Now I will go get my dream. What is my dream?

I have a dream. There is a wall somewhere out there.. A wall between the human and the inhuman. My dream is to stand on that wall.. and PISS on the other side.

Leave a Reply

