Where we stand..

It’s been quite some time since I wrote about any sporting events. I have been busy and I haven’t had any good things to write about. I finally found the drive to write something so here goes..

Cricket:

India won the ODI series 3-2 against England this week. Suresh Raina was the man of the series with 4 50’s in the 4 matches he batted. The flops of the series were Gambhir and Yuvraj. Neither of the performed well and we could have won 5-0 had they chipped in. Nevertheless we find ourselves in the Numero Uno position in cricket ODI rankings as South Africa lost a ODI series to New Zealand. We lead the table by 2 or 3 points. Not much to go by. We had lost a ODI series earlier against Pakisthan 2-1. 2 T-20 series were played against Pakisthan and England and we drew both 1-1. We lost the Test series against England before that 2-1.

We have a series against Australia next month. I’m not very hopeful of our performance and I just get the feeling that we are going to get our asses kicked in by Clarke. I’ll have to wait and see how we do.

Tennis

I saw a Tennis match today after a long time. The Australian Open final won by Djokovic who beat Murray in 4 sets. The match seemed even in the first 2 sets with both of them going to tie breakers but then on Djokovic kicked in and took the game. I hope to see Nadal on court in a competitive match in Late Feb or March. I don’t know how long he will take to get back to top fitness.

Football

Things are not all that well in Arsenal land. A string of defeats in various tournaments have left me disillusioned. Why am I watching Arsenal play football. I don’t play football. They are not my local team. They don’t have any legendary players in the team. So why should I suffer while they lose. Any deal should give benefits to both sides. This deal is not giving me anything. So I’ll just twist it around to suit me.

Anyway we are out of the League cup after losing to some shitty team. We won against some shitty team yesterday in the F.A cup and are into the 5th round. In the league, we sit at the 6th point, 4 points behind 4th placed Tottenham who we still have to play and 8 points behind 3rd placed Chelsea who we lost to some time back. I don’t know if we can finish in the top 4 this season and I don’t know if I’ll continue watching football if we don’t. We’ll just have to wait and see

Leave a Reply

