Fighter!!!

Every time I set out to write a post these days, I’m having to make up my mind on how I ought to sound. Should I be energetic and optimistic or be negative and depressed. My natural inclination is to be positive but then, there are times when you don’t really have anything to cheer about.

Right now is one such case. India is currently playing the third test match and looks like we are all set to lose this one too. But I am not going to talk about it. It’s too depressing. I have better things to talk about.

Thierry Henry for example. Arsenal have signed him on loan for two months. We needed a striker as Chamakh and Gervinho have left for ACN and Arsene Wenger decided that Henry was the cheapest option available. I wasn’t sure whether Thierry could really make an impact. But then came the F.A cup match with Leeds where I was proved wrong. We had lots of possession as usual but very little impact up front. Henry was brought on as substitute for Chamakh at about the  70th min and he scored within 15 mins.  We needed a goal and he got it for us. You can’t ask for anything more. We won 1-0.

At this point of time, 2 weeks into the new year, our performance in this season reads like this:

Played:   20          Won:    11          Lost:       6        Drawn   3         Points:     36      Position:   5

Good News: We are 1 point behind fourth placed Chelsea.

Bad News: Fourth place is the best we can hope for this season.

As much as I would like us to finish higher than Tottenham, I can’t see that happening. I can’t guess how I would feel at the end of the season when I look at this post and reflect. I hope by the end of may, I will be feeling ” That was GOOD, we did well”  instead of “We could have done BETTER” and definitely not “It Couldn’t have been WORSE.” Only time will tell.

So the last couple of months have been poor for my teams. Arsenal had their moments but lost out. India have been pathetic in Cricket. And Nadal hasn’t been winning that much. And then Ferrari finished 3rd in Championship.

This is a new season starting out. F1 of course starts in March so we have time for that. But Tennis is starting with Australian Open starting this Monday. And with Arsenal playing the second half of the season with crucial F.A cup and Champions League matches, I have a lot to look forward too.

Everyone needs an anchor to move along happily in life. I wonder who my anchor will be this season. The Individuals I support need not win all the time. It is unrealistic to expect that. But I want them to compete. Prove it that they are among the best. Not bend over and get themselves fucked like the Cricket team is doing currently. I like fighters. I support them and they inspire me.

Nothing Else Matters.

Leave a Reply

